The Eye of the World

Author: Robert Jordan
Book #1 of Series: The Wheel of Time
View: 0
Published year: 1990


The Eye of the World is a fantasy novel by American writer Robert Jordan, the first book of The Wheel of Time series. It was published by Tor Books and released on January 16, 1990. The book begins in the region of the Two Rivers, which has been virtually cut off from most of the rest of the world for over a thousand years. It is spring festival, Bel Tine. On the way from his father’s isolated farm, Rand notices a strange man watching him. The man, whose cloak doesn't move in the wind, frightens him. He tells Tam, his father and a widower, but the man is gone when Tam looks.The Eye of the World is a journey of self-discovery. Rand, Mat and Perrin are being hunted by the Dark One, though no one knows why. Moiraine is an Aes Sedai, people who have the ability to touch the True Source and draw on a magic called the One Power, and she intends to find out what the Dark One wants with them. She guides them on a journey towards Tar Valon, the Aes Sedai seat of power. The three boys have many experiences, learning about themselves as they journey. Their destinies are intertwined, and one of them holds the key to the doom and salvation of the world. They must discover whom they are in order to prepare themselves for the coming battle. "The Eye of the World" is the first book of an epic saga in a vast, richly-detailed fantasy world by a well-known writer.